On Being an Inspiration

I never set out to do this, to become an inspiration.  I had no idea that this would be on the other side of this grand adventure that we are on. 


In 2017 we packed up our life, and quit the 9-5 to head out into the world.  We came with no expectations, we only wanted to experience life.  Since we have left, we have packed more fun and adventure into our lives than we ever could have imagined.  Being on the road now for over two years, has brought with it the freedom to explore what it is that we really want to do with our lives,  the time to pay attention to the things that are truly important to us, and the adventure to truly make life fun and interesting once again.  We left seeking an exciting life, and we have not been disappointed!  Join us as we explore as much of this big old world that we can!


I have to say, I have goosebumps as I write this post.

I just read a facebook post from a friend that had a picture of her packed suitcase, with a caption “…..and that’s ALL I need…🙏❤”

My heart leapt with joy when I saw it because I knew what it meant.  It meant that she had accomplished what seems to be impossible to most, she too sold all of her possessions, and closed down her life, in order to start over and set herself free out into the world.

Natasha messaged me back in the spring, and told me that her and her husband were going to sell everything and head to Mexico, where their friend would have a van for them to travel around in and live out of.  Of course I was stoked for her, but talk is cheap.

It’s not that I didn’t believe her, it’s just that I now know the mental fortitude that it takes, to accomplish a monumental task such as this.  It really does feel like you should win a medal at the end of it all or something.  Like, “Where the hell are all the cheering fans? Don’t you know what I just went through?”

But no, it’s not like that at all.  You just silently slip off, and the life that you once new as your everyday norm, continues on without you. In your future lies a completely new plane, a new universe of opportunities, another chance to decide who it is you want to be.

So when I realized that she had actually done it, I was PUMPED for her!  I am mostly excited for her next transition, the part where she really realizes that she is absolutely free to go and live her life in any way that she chooses.  Every corner presents a new opportunity, and in this life we either take each opportunity, or we don’t, but you can be sure that there will always be more.

In this life you get to choose the direction you want to go.  In this life you decide to do what makes you happy.  In this life you have the time and space to really find yourself.

Of course, there are factors to take into consideration such as the money to do it, how to get healthcare, and other things that we may let ourselves hold ourselves back with.  But at the end of the day, all of those things are secondary to the realization that you have finally taken the first step to truly LIVING your life.  And let me tell you, it is exhilarating!

When you are out there in the world, you are slowly taking in the scenery around you, adjusting to new ways of life, most times to new cultures, and often new languages. Nobody is telling you how to live your life, there is no media screaming in your ear about the latest bit of tragedy.  You aren’t influenced by societies standards anymore.  In fact, there are no standards, at least no consistent ones.

Every culture offers its own set of ‘standards’ that they follow.  In Central America, for example, it is pretty standard across the board to greet people as you pass them by.  Whether it is on the sidewalk in passing, or when you walk into the bank and announce “buenas dias” to the entirety of the patrons, people take the time to greet each other in that way.  Of course, we adjusted to that and many others, and loved feeling we had somehow, in some small way, become a part of each culture that we visited, or at least fit in with it.

And, of course, this is different everywhere we go.  And, of course, we adapt and change and adjust and take it all in.  This is the most exciting part of travelling, just the simple chance to get out there to see how it is that others live their lives.

Because peoples lives are all so different, and so interesting.  It’s impossible to conjure up in your mind what sorts of experiences you will have while getting to know these lives of others.  They are like none you could ever expect or anticipate.

Natasha is on the way to writing a new chapter in her life.  She is heading off to see what the heck is out there!  She too felt that she just needed to get out there and live life, and I am so proud of her for doing it! Doing what she has done takes guts and determination.  It takes a strong mind that is willing to go against the status quo, and it takes strength and courage to fight through the fears that try to bring you back.  The ones that whisper in your ear that you can’t do it.

Today she thanked me for being such a great inspiration, and all I can say is, I am honoured.  I am honoured because by following my passion and by bravely stepping away from a life that wasn’t serving me anymore, I have inspired another.

I never set out to do this, to become an inspiration.  I had no idea that this would be on the other side of this grand adventure that we are on.  My partner and I were simply following our hearts and doing what we felt like we needed to do.  It is in this that I now see what so many before me have said “Just be yourself and do what you love, because you never know who is watching and how you are changing their life.”

And it is so true.

And now Natasha, it is your turn to inspire.  It is your turn to go out there and realize your dreams, and it is your turn to pass your wisdom and experience on to those that follow YOUR journey.  I am so excited to see what waits for you out there in the big ol’ world, and of course, I am cheering you on!

Bon Voyage and Best Wishes!!!

xo Jill


Thanks for reading! Please know that above all else, I aim to inspire others to just get out and see the world. Traveling is such an enriching experience, and I can’t even comprehend how much it has shaped me as an individual. If you have ANY questions, or need travel advice of ANY kind, PLEASE don’t hesitate to email me at the address below! I will do my very best to help you in any way that I can!

Xoxoxo Happy Travels!


Current Location: Canmore, Alberta Canada 

Travelling Plans: We have exciting news today!  We JUST booked the first leg of our flights to Morocco in January!  More details coming soon! 

To head back to the beginning of our journey, and the moment we decided to sell all of our possessions to travel the world, click here.

To see many travelling photos and to learn about where we are travelling, please follow our Facebook and Instagram accounts by clicking on the appropriate icon in the right hand column.

To learn about where I have previously traveled, visit my Countries Page.

To see all of my blog post headings on one page, (including all of the ones about letting our stuff go) head over to my Blog Post Menu.

To contribute to our Patreon account, please click here.

To learn about housesitting, please click here.

To email me directly, please do so anytime at jillamatt@me.com.

If you like my writing, and want to follow along on our journey, please put your email address in the right hand column to subscribe. That way all of my posts will go straight to your email inbox:)

 

Author: jillamatt

Basically born a traveler, I long to see every corner of the world. In 2017, my partner and I sold all of our posessions, to pursue a life of travel, wanderlust and a yearning for more; More knowledge, more experiences and more joy. Join us in our explorations of this beautiful planet, we promise to not disappoint! The world is a giant book, and I intend to read every chapter that I can. I promise to whisk you away with me, as you yourself travel the world, without ever leaving your house.

Leave a comment