January 16, 2017

Published February 6, 2017 by jillamatt

***Jill’s ‘letting go’ Diary***

This is part of a series of posts (ordered by Dated Titles) where I am recording my thoughts and emotions as we tackle getting rid of all of our possessions.  From the day that I came up with this idea, to sell everything and travel the world, I have recorded my thoughts on certain days where I felt like writing.  These are real time, and not edited (except for grammatical corrections.) 

Well I did it!  After visiting my cousin this morning to tell him, I figured that my parents need to know ASAP before the network expands.  So, I did it.

In true predictable fashion, they had the obvious questions about where we plan to go and live, how we were going to survive, the usual concerns.  But after about 2 minutes of explaining myself, Dad said that he was supportive, and that it was my life and I needed to do whatever it is that makes me happy.  Mom, meanwhile let out a bunch of long sighs, but I know she will come around and be excited for me once this all gets going.  After all, this isn’t the first time I have dropped these kinds of bombs on them.  However, it IS the first time in a long time.

It’s actually no surprise really.  For the most part, over the course of my life, they have supported any hair brained ideas that I have had.  One in particular found me and my ex-husband purchasing a kayak from a Kayak shop in the Florida Keys.  We had never kayaked before, how hard could it be?  We literally bought it and pushed it out into the Florida Evergaldes right behind the store,  to embark on a 4 week journey up to Evergaldes City and back to Flamingo.

We had been working on a boat in Ft. Lauderdale, crewing on it back and forth to the Bahamas when we got sick of that gig.  We made our way down to the Keys, and came up with our cockamamie plan.  My parents just happened to be doing some business in Miami at the time, so they drove down to see what we were up to, and were there the day we filled the kayak with whatever essentials that we thought we needed (mostly stuffed into black garbage bags), and helped to push us off the shore.

A month later we told them that we were shipping the boat to the Bahamas and that we planned to paddle around there for a while.  No idea how long, just a while.  We paddled from Nassau down to Georgetown, following the Exuma chain, and YES making the 23 mile crossing from Rose Island to the tip of the Exumas, Ship Channel Cay.  This meant days and weeks without hearing from us as we moved from place to place looking for a way to call home.  We came across one spot at one point that had had their telecommunications blown out by the last hurricane.  The satellite phone costed $5 per minute, so the conversation went something like this: “Hi Dad, it’s Jill, we are alive but this is costing us $5 per minute so we will call you later when we get to a better phone.”  His response: “Okay Jill, thanks for calling.”  I think at that point they hadn’t heard from us in about 2 weeks, and were fully aware of where we were and what we were up to.  In fact, they seriously urged us not to make the 23 mile open ocean crossing as they knew that many things could go wrong out there.

Little did I know, because when you are 21/22, you don’t really consider your parents are worried to death about you, they were having nightmares about tides coming in and washing our kayak and all of our belongings out into the ocean while we slept, leaving us stranded in the middle of nowhere.  Little did THEY know, we also had a few sleepless nights where the only spot we could find to camp was jammed into a mangrove forest, and we weren’t sure how high the tide would come.  So we would consequently wake up every hour or so and look outside to see what was up.  Thankfully, in one particular spot, it was a dead calm night, and the water came within inches of our tent and then finally started to recede again.

So really, this is a piece of cake to them.  I’m 40 years old, I have a solid head on my shoulders, and I am headed to places on the land to rent a house or apartment.  At least, that is the plan so far.  Who knows what crazy thoughts we will dream up once we get out there!

Okay, deep breath……Chris’ mom next, then we can really start the ball rolling with this.

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!  I’m really excited now!

Leave a Reply

