Just some thoughts…..

Published December 6, 2015 by jillamatt

As this blog, and our trip progresses, I am finding myself wondering how I should be organizing my blog posts? Should I be doing a chronological order of events? Or should I just be capturing highlights of our trip? 

I feel like everyday there are a hundred different things that I could be reporting on. However, I also realize that this isn’t a travel diary, and maybe I should be keeping one of those on the side as well. In the past I was pretty rigid with myself when it came to my travel diary. I would write in it almost every day, recording where I went and what I did on each specific day. 

However, this is clearly a different medium, and I am quite aware that my readers don’t need to know what I ate for lunch every day, or exactly what museum, church, or attraction that I have visited. So, I have decided that it will specifically highlight events, or information that stands out in my mind. 

I have also been approached by individuals interested in learning about specific travel tips, such as my packing philosophy, lists that I make, how to plan ahead, safety issues etc. Although I realize that this is valuable information for potential travellers, I feel that my strength lies in story telling and recapping my experiences, therefore, hopefully, inspiring others to travel. 

There are many travel blogs out there where travellers help people to learn HOW to travel, but I just want to highlight the EXPERIENCE of travelling. 

I have always been fully aware that every day we live is an experience. I have rarely let great experiences pass me by. If something seems exciting and fun, I will generally get on board. I get very bored with monotony and living day to day without anything to look forward to. 

Travelling, to me, is the ultimate thing to look forward to. The minute I know I’m going somewhere, I start to research. I love knowing about where I am going, gazing at maps to get the lay of the land, learning about their customs and traditions, and possibly learning a few words of the language before hand. This trip has been no exception. And I guess, in realizing what I am writing here, THIS is my preparation.  

I feel with this sort of preparation, I am more able to embrace the local customs, blend into the fabric of the country that I am visiting, and not stand out as the stereotypical tourist that wants to act just like they do at home, and pretend like nothing is different. I believe we MUST be able to adapt, to accept what comes to us, to respect the land and the people of which we are visiting. And I believe that THIS will enrich our experience. 

And so, this blog will highlight my (for this trip “our”) experiences, because, after all, what is life without them??

I think it’s clear now, that I LOVE TO TRAVEL, and I love to share my stories. I hope that I can inspire you to get out there and do some wandering too!!

The next blog post (coming soon!) will highlight our initial experiences in Bulgaria:) 

Leave a Reply

